Legislature - District 26


Matt Hansen


Adjunct instructor, Bellevue University


Public offices heldNebraska Legislature, 2015-present
EducationJ.D., University of Nebraska College of Law; bachelor's degree in psychology and political science, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Key issueMy top priority has been and will continue to be advocating for the needs and concerns of the people in District 26. Throughout my first term in the Legislature, I have addressed key issues shared by constituents, including making sure we support all of our students, protecting our workers and economy, and investing in our neighborhoods and communities. I will continue to listen to the people of Northeast Lincoln to ensure their priorities are represented in the Legislature.

Bob Van Valkenburg

Retired founder, president and CEO of Van Valkenburg and Associates Inc.; retired U.S. Army Lieutenant Colonel


Public offices heldNone
EducationMaster of business administration, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; bachelor's degree in chemistry and communications, Oklahoma State University; U.S. Army Command and General Staff College
MilitaryU.S. Army lieutenant colonel (1955-1986)
FamilyMarried, four grown children
Key issueI will strive to return civility and integrity to the legislative process through establishing a trusting interpersonal relationship with each senator so as to facilitate passage of critical legislation. Property tax relief will be the most critical subject in 2019, followed by assurance of responsible healthcare coverage for all Nebraskans. Lowering the cost of getting a college education and making drastic cuts in fraud, waste and abuse in government are agenda items also. I have an established track record of writing and getting past responsible education and environmental legislation. I will limit myself to only one four-year term.

Get unlimited access to the best political coverage

Sign up for a digital subscription now and get your first month of in-depth reporting for just 99 cents.



Stay in the know

Get the area's best political coverage and more sent straight to your inbox.

Voter info

Three ways to register

» Online at nebraska.gov/apps-sos-voter-registration.

» Print out an application (Here's the form) and take it to your local election commission (Here’s a list)

» Register in person at an election commission office, the DMV, or in Douglas County, any of Omaha’s 12 library branches.

Registration questions

Visit www.votercheck.necvr.ne.gov to check whether you’re registered to vote and find your polling place. If you think you should be able to vote at a polling place but there’s a problem with the registration, request to fill out a provisional ballot. The election commission will collect them and then has a week to verify whether you are eligible to vote.

To see a sample ballot

See a sample ballot from the Nebraska Secretary of State website here.

To find your district

Visit votercheck.necvr.ne.gov and look up your registration info or polling place to find a list of the political districts you live in.

Important dates

Oct. 1: First day for early voting ballots to be mailed.
Oct. 9: First day to vote early in person at election commission office.
Oct. 19: Deadline to register to vote online, by mail, at agencies, at the DMV office, by deputy registrar or by registration form that’s delivered to the election office by someone other than the person registering
Oct. 26: Deadline for in-person voter registration at election commission office, 6 p.m. Deadline for early voting ballots to be requested to be mailed to a specific address, 6 p.m. Deadline for write-in candidates to file notarized affidavit and filing fee with filing officer.
Nov. 5: Deadline for in-person early voting at election commission office, 5 p.m. (Sarpy County office closes at 4:45 p.m.)
Nov. 6: Election Day! Polls open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. 7 p.m.: Deadline for agent to pick up early voting ballot. 8 p.m.: Deadline to return early voting ballot to election commission office or drop box location
Nov. 13: Deadline for verification of provisional ballots

Here are the Douglas County drop box locations, opening in early October:

City/County Building (1819 Farnam St.)
South Omaha Branch Library (2808 Q St.)
Washington Branch Library (2868 Ames Ave.)
Ralston Police Department (7400 Main St., Ralston)
Abrahams Branch Library (5111 N. 90th St.)
Douglas County Election Commission (225 N. 115th St.)
Drive-up location (115th and Davenport Streets, on median)
Douglas County Engineer's Office (15505 West Maple Road)
Millard Public Schools Foundation (5225 S. 159th Ave.)
Bess Johnson Elkhorn Branch Library (2100 Reading Plaza)

To contact your election commission

Douglas County Election Commission: www.votedouglascounty.com; 402-444-8683; 225 N. 115th St., Omaha, NE 68154

Sarpy County Election Commission: www.sarpy.com/election; 402-593-2167; 501 Olson Drive, Suite 4, Papillion, NE 68046