Legislature - District 44


Dan Hughes




Public offices heldNebraska Legislature, District 44, 2015-present; School Board, Perkins County Schools, 1998-2010.
EducationAssociate degree in occupational agriculture, Northeastern Junior College.
FamilyMarried, two grown children
FaithUnited Methodist
Key issueProperty taxes - one of the main reasons that I ran for the Legislature to begin with is the inequity of how we’re taxing. I’ve worked hard to try and find ways to show people not in agriculture why it’s not fair what we’re doing. Farmers are businessmen - we’re just like the store keeper down the street or a lawyer or any other business owner. But why do we tax the net worth of a farmer and not a businessman, not a lawyer? The only way I know is: That’s the way we’ve always done it. That’s never a good answer to any question.

Stephanie Malcolm

Teacher, Wauneta-Palisade Schools; Co-owner, Sodtown Sundries


Public offices heldPlanning commission, Laramie, Wyo.
EducationMaster's degree in curriculum and instruction, Chadron State College, associate degree in science, Mid-Plains Community College.
FamilyMarried, three children
FaithNot affiliated
Key issueChoices are a good thing. Choices foster critical thinking and involvement. The people of District 44 have a choice in November. We can come together to focus on solutions, utilize technology and analytics to problem solve faster, and continue to build on the "Good Life.” If elected, I will keep an open and independent view when solving problems. I am ready to be a lead learner and leader for District 44. We can consider our choices carefully, educate ourselves and be involved to better help our state find solutions. It is an exciting time to be a Nebraskan.

Get unlimited access to the best political coverage

Sign up for a digital subscription now and get your first month of in-depth reporting for just 99 cents.



Stay in the know

Get the area's best political coverage and more sent straight to your inbox.

Voter info

Three ways to register

» Online at nebraska.gov/apps-sos-voter-registration.

» Print out an application (Here's the form) and take it to your local election commission (Here’s a list)

» Register in person at an election commission office, the DMV, or in Douglas County, any of Omaha’s 12 library branches.

Registration questions

Visit www.votercheck.necvr.ne.gov to check whether you’re registered to vote and find your polling place. If you think you should be able to vote at a polling place but there’s a problem with the registration, request to fill out a provisional ballot. The election commission will collect them and then has a week to verify whether you are eligible to vote.

To see a sample ballot

See a sample ballot from the Nebraska Secretary of State website here.

To find your district

Visit votercheck.necvr.ne.gov and look up your registration info or polling place to find a list of the political districts you live in.

Important dates

Oct. 1: First day for early voting ballots to be mailed.
Oct. 9: First day to vote early in person at election commission office.
Oct. 19: Deadline to register to vote online, by mail, at agencies, at the DMV office, by deputy registrar or by registration form that’s delivered to the election office by someone other than the person registering
Oct. 26: Deadline for in-person voter registration at election commission office, 6 p.m. Deadline for early voting ballots to be requested to be mailed to a specific address, 6 p.m. Deadline for write-in candidates to file notarized affidavit and filing fee with filing officer.
Nov. 5: Deadline for in-person early voting at election commission office, 5 p.m. (Sarpy County office closes at 4:45 p.m.)
Nov. 6: Election Day! Polls open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. 7 p.m.: Deadline for agent to pick up early voting ballot. 8 p.m.: Deadline to return early voting ballot to election commission office or drop box location
Nov. 13: Deadline for verification of provisional ballots

Here are the Douglas County drop box locations, opening in early October:

City/County Building (1819 Farnam St.)
South Omaha Branch Library (2808 Q St.)
Washington Branch Library (2868 Ames Ave.)
Ralston Police Department (7400 Main St., Ralston)
Abrahams Branch Library (5111 N. 90th St.)
Douglas County Election Commission (225 N. 115th St.)
Drive-up location (115th and Davenport Streets, on median)
Douglas County Engineer's Office (15505 West Maple Road)
Millard Public Schools Foundation (5225 S. 159th Ave.)
Bess Johnson Elkhorn Branch Library (2100 Reading Plaza)

To contact your election commission

Douglas County Election Commission: www.votedouglascounty.com; 402-444-8683; 225 N. 115th St., Omaha, NE 68154

Sarpy County Election Commission: www.sarpy.com/election; 402-593-2167; 501 Olson Drive, Suite 4, Papillion, NE 68046