Nebraska Public Service Commission - District 1

Republican Dan Watermeier faces Democrat Christa Yoakum.

The latest coverage

  • Candidates for Nebraska Public Service Commission split on Keystone XL (Sept. 29, 2018)
  • Candidates

    Dan Watermeier



    HomeRural Syracuse
    Public offices heldNebraska Legislature, 2013-present; Nemaha Natural Resources Commission; Nebraska Natural Resources Commission.
    EducationSyracuse-Avoca-Dunbar High School; University of Nebraska-Lincoln, agriculture degree
    FamilyMarried, three grown children
    Key issueServing in Nebraska's Legislature, especially as chair of the Executive Board, has given me a unique perspective on the importance of a healthy relationship between our state's industries, the public, and government. I decided to run for the commission because of its role in overseeing several industries that are important to Nebraska's economy. From oil pipelines to natural gas rates to safe passenger service to robust broadband, even-handed oversight is essential. My experience in the Legislature, and my years of business experience, will enable me to provide excellent service to the public.

    Christa Yoakum

    Program coordinator/community organizer, Nebraska Appleseed


    Public offices heldNone
    EducationAttended the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, studied journalism
    FamilyMarried, four adult sons
    Key issueNebraska's future will be shaped by access to the internet. On the PSC, my priority will be expanding affordable high-speed internet services to every part of the state. The commission oversees public investment in telecommunications infrastructure and I'll ensure those funds are used responsibly, fairly, and effectively. Equitable internet access isn't just about technological progress. Economic growth, social mobility, and the survival of our rural communities depend on people's connection to the digital world. Everyone, no matter where they live or how much they make, deserves access to 21st-century opportunities.

    Get unlimited access to the best political coverage

    Sign up for a digital subscription now and get your first month of in-depth reporting for just 99 cents.



    Stay in the know

    Get the area's best political coverage and more sent straight to your inbox.

    Voter info

    Three ways to register

    » Online at

    » Print out an application (Here's the form) and take it to your local election commission (Here’s a list)

    » Register in person at an election commission office, the DMV, or in Douglas County, any of Omaha’s 12 library branches.

    Registration questions

    Visit to check whether you’re registered to vote and find your polling place. If you think you should be able to vote at a polling place but there’s a problem with the registration, request to fill out a provisional ballot. The election commission will collect them and then has a week to verify whether you are eligible to vote.

    To see a sample ballot

    See a sample ballot from the Nebraska Secretary of State website here.

    To find your district

    Visit and look up your registration info or polling place to find a list of the political districts you live in.

    Important dates

    Oct. 1: First day for early voting ballots to be mailed.
    Oct. 9: First day to vote early in person at election commission office.
    Oct. 19: Deadline to register to vote online, by mail, at agencies, at the DMV office, by deputy registrar or by registration form that’s delivered to the election office by someone other than the person registering
    Oct. 26: Deadline for in-person voter registration at election commission office, 6 p.m. Deadline for early voting ballots to be requested to be mailed to a specific address, 6 p.m. Deadline for write-in candidates to file notarized affidavit and filing fee with filing officer.
    Nov. 5: Deadline for in-person early voting at election commission office, 5 p.m. (Sarpy County office closes at 4:45 p.m.)
    Nov. 6: Election Day! Polls open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. 7 p.m.: Deadline for agent to pick up early voting ballot. 8 p.m.: Deadline to return early voting ballot to election commission office or drop box location
    Nov. 13: Deadline for verification of provisional ballots

    Here are the Douglas County drop box locations, opening in early October:

    City/County Building (1819 Farnam St.)
    South Omaha Branch Library (2808 Q St.)
    Washington Branch Library (2868 Ames Ave.)
    Ralston Police Department (7400 Main St., Ralston)
    Abrahams Branch Library (5111 N. 90th St.)
    Douglas County Election Commission (225 N. 115th St.)
    Drive-up location (115th and Davenport Streets, on median)
    Douglas County Engineer's Office (15505 West Maple Road)
    Millard Public Schools Foundation (5225 S. 159th Ave.)
    Bess Johnson Elkhorn Branch Library (2100 Reading Plaza)

    To contact your election commission

    Douglas County Election Commission:; 402-444-8683; 225 N. 115th St., Omaha, NE 68154

    Sarpy County Election Commission:; 402-593-2167; 501 Olson Drive, Suite 4, Papillion, NE 68046