Nebraska Public Service Commission - District 3

Republican Tim Schram faces Democrat Mike Forsythe for the office.

The latest coverage

  • Candidates for Nebraska Public Service Commission split on Keystone XL (Sept. 29, 2018)
  • Candidates

    Mike Forsythe

    Retired production supervisor


    Public offices heldNone
    EducationOmaha North High School
    FamilyMarried, three grown children
    Key issueI believe that as citizens, we are responsible to and for each other. If elected to the Nebraska Public Service Commission, I would stand up for Nebraskans in District 3 and across the state. As taxpayers, we continue to pay for services we don’t receive. New leadership is needed on the PSC to ensure this cycle ends. As your elected official, I would work tirelessly to improve the effectiveness of our 911 service, fulfill the promise of broadband Internet service access across the state and hold companies accountable for funds allocated by the PSC from the Nebraska Universal Service Fund.

    Tim Schram


    Nebraska Public Service Commission member


    HomeRural Gretna
    Public offices heldNebraska Public Service Commission, 2007-present; Sarpy County Board, 1994-2006; Sarpy County Planning Board, 2000-06
    EducationGraduate, Ashland-Greenwood High School; Bachelor of Science in agriculture, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln
    Key issueI have been a leader on public safety upgrades and a watchdog for ratepayers. This year the Legislature gave the PSC authority to start implementing the “next generation” 911 system. This will help first responders expedite response and improve location accuracy. Having served on the national FCC 911 task force, I have the knowledge and experience needed to help implement the upgrades in Nebraska. I have always been mindful of the burden consumers face and advocate for more competition. I was recently the only no vote on a proposal to double taxes on wireless devices. I would appreciate your vote.

    Get unlimited access to the best political coverage

    Sign up for a digital subscription now and get your first month of in-depth reporting for just 99 cents.



    Stay in the know

    Get the area's best political coverage and more sent straight to your inbox.

    Voter info

    Three ways to register

    » Online at

    » Print out an application (Here's the form) and take it to your local election commission (Here’s a list)

    » Register in person at an election commission office, the DMV, or in Douglas County, any of Omaha’s 12 library branches.

    Registration questions

    Visit to check whether you’re registered to vote and find your polling place. If you think you should be able to vote at a polling place but there’s a problem with the registration, request to fill out a provisional ballot. The election commission will collect them and then has a week to verify whether you are eligible to vote.

    To see a sample ballot

    See a sample ballot from the Nebraska Secretary of State website here.

    To find your district

    Visit and look up your registration info or polling place to find a list of the political districts you live in.

    Important dates

    Oct. 1: First day for early voting ballots to be mailed.
    Oct. 9: First day to vote early in person at election commission office.
    Oct. 19: Deadline to register to vote online, by mail, at agencies, at the DMV office, by deputy registrar or by registration form that’s delivered to the election office by someone other than the person registering
    Oct. 26: Deadline for in-person voter registration at election commission office, 6 p.m. Deadline for early voting ballots to be requested to be mailed to a specific address, 6 p.m. Deadline for write-in candidates to file notarized affidavit and filing fee with filing officer.
    Nov. 5: Deadline for in-person early voting at election commission office, 5 p.m. (Sarpy County office closes at 4:45 p.m.)
    Nov. 6: Election Day! Polls open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. 7 p.m.: Deadline for agent to pick up early voting ballot. 8 p.m.: Deadline to return early voting ballot to election commission office or drop box location
    Nov. 13: Deadline for verification of provisional ballots

    Here are the Douglas County drop box locations, opening in early October:

    City/County Building (1819 Farnam St.)
    South Omaha Branch Library (2808 Q St.)
    Washington Branch Library (2868 Ames Ave.)
    Ralston Police Department (7400 Main St., Ralston)
    Abrahams Branch Library (5111 N. 90th St.)
    Douglas County Election Commission (225 N. 115th St.)
    Drive-up location (115th and Davenport Streets, on median)
    Douglas County Engineer's Office (15505 West Maple Road)
    Millard Public Schools Foundation (5225 S. 159th Ave.)
    Bess Johnson Elkhorn Branch Library (2100 Reading Plaza)

    To contact your election commission

    Douglas County Election Commission:; 402-444-8683; 225 N. 115th St., Omaha, NE 68154

    Sarpy County Election Commission:; 402-593-2167; 501 Olson Drive, Suite 4, Papillion, NE 68046