Sarpy County Board - District 2

Republican David Klug faces Democrat Ben Justman in the November general election.

The latest coverage

  • Sewer project, taxes among top issues in Sarpy County Board elections (Aug. 5, 2018)
  • Candidates

    Ben Justman

    Executive director of the Sarpy County Museum; history instructor at Iowa Western Community College


    Public offices heldNone
    EducationMaster’s degree in history from Western Illinois University; bachelor’s degree in history from Central College in Pella, Iowa
    Key issueThe top priority is to ensure that the quality of life remains high in Sarpy County as the area continues to grow with the development of the South Sarpy Sewer Project. The county’s future should include sustainable economic growth with a collaborative and responsible government that will continue to offer effective public services. I am committed to building a prosperous future for the county and its communities. It’s a special place, and I intend to keep it that way.

    David Klug

    Senior performance improvement coordinator at Ortho Nebraska


    HomeLa Vista
    Public offices heldPapio-Missouri River Natural Resources District board since 2007
    EducationMaster's degree in public administration from the University of Nebraska at Omaha, bachelor of science in political science from UNO
    Key issueThe South Sarpy Sewer Project -- that is definitely the top priority. Setting up the infrastructure for intelligent and manageable growth within the county. I want to make sure that we work with the cities and the (Sarpy County and Sarpy Cities Wastewater Agency) to help prioritize accordingly, so the county and cities within it can continue to grow.

    Get unlimited access to the best political coverage

    Sign up for a digital subscription now and get your first month of in-depth reporting for just 99 cents.



    Stay in the know

    Get the area's best political coverage and more sent straight to your inbox.

    Voter info

    Three ways to register

    » Online at

    » Print out an application (Here's the form) and take it to your local election commission (Here’s a list)

    » Register in person at an election commission office, the DMV, or in Douglas County, any of Omaha’s 12 library branches.

    Registration questions

    Visit to check whether you’re registered to vote and find your polling place. If you think you should be able to vote at a polling place but there’s a problem with the registration, request to fill out a provisional ballot. The election commission will collect them and then has a week to verify whether you are eligible to vote.

    To see a sample ballot

    See a sample ballot from the Nebraska Secretary of State website here.

    To find your district

    Visit and look up your registration info or polling place to find a list of the political districts you live in.

    Important dates

    Oct. 1: First day for early voting ballots to be mailed.
    Oct. 9: First day to vote early in person at election commission office.
    Oct. 19: Deadline to register to vote online, by mail, at agencies, at the DMV office, by deputy registrar or by registration form that’s delivered to the election office by someone other than the person registering
    Oct. 26: Deadline for in-person voter registration at election commission office, 6 p.m. Deadline for early voting ballots to be requested to be mailed to a specific address, 6 p.m. Deadline for write-in candidates to file notarized affidavit and filing fee with filing officer.
    Nov. 5: Deadline for in-person early voting at election commission office, 5 p.m. (Sarpy County office closes at 4:45 p.m.)
    Nov. 6: Election Day! Polls open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. 7 p.m.: Deadline for agent to pick up early voting ballot. 8 p.m.: Deadline to return early voting ballot to election commission office or drop box location
    Nov. 13: Deadline for verification of provisional ballots

    Here are the Douglas County drop box locations, opening in early October:

    City/County Building (1819 Farnam St.)
    South Omaha Branch Library (2808 Q St.)
    Washington Branch Library (2868 Ames Ave.)
    Ralston Police Department (7400 Main St., Ralston)
    Abrahams Branch Library (5111 N. 90th St.)
    Douglas County Election Commission (225 N. 115th St.)
    Drive-up location (115th and Davenport Streets, on median)
    Douglas County Engineer's Office (15505 West Maple Road)
    Millard Public Schools Foundation (5225 S. 159th Ave.)
    Bess Johnson Elkhorn Branch Library (2100 Reading Plaza)

    To contact your election commission

    Douglas County Election Commission:; 402-444-8683; 225 N. 115th St., Omaha, NE 68154

    Sarpy County Election Commission:; 402-593-2167; 501 Olson Drive, Suite 4, Papillion, NE 68046