Sarpy County Board - District 5


Dennis Tresca

Manager at NTT Security


Public offices heldNone
EducationMaster’s degree in business administration from Columbia Southern University; bachelor’s degree in computer science from Troy University
MilitaryRetired as a captain after 18 years in the U.S. Air Force
FamilyMarried with three children
Key issueAs a firm believer and practitioner in servant leadership, my top priority is to truly represent the people of western Sarpy County. Whether it be fair taxation, avoiding annexation lawsuits or snow removal in the county, I will make the community’s top priority my own if elected. An elected official’s responsibility should never be to push his or her own agenda but to be a voice of the community the role represents.

Jim Warren


Missions pastor at Journey Church


Public offices heldSarpy County Board, 2010 to present; Gretna mayor, 1992-2004; Gretna City Council, 1990-1992
EducationBachelor’s degree in theology from Toccoa Falls College
FamilyMarried with three children and four grandchildren
Key issueI will continue to work for the residents of Sarpy County. In my more than 20 years of service as an elected official, I have become known as a common-sense, hardworking, conservative elected official. My leadership has been proven, tested and trusted. I have developed a skill set unique to the growth of Sarpy County. I will continue to work to see the south Sarpy sewer become a reality. I will lead in the building of roads and infrastructure for our growing county. I am committed to build a corrections facility that also addresses the growing mental health needs of our county.

Get unlimited access to the best political coverage

Sign up for a digital subscription now and get your first month of in-depth reporting for just 99 cents.



Stay in the know

Get the area's best political coverage and more sent straight to your inbox.

Voter info

Three ways to register

» Online at

» Print out an application (Here's the form) and take it to your local election commission (Here’s a list)

» Register in person at an election commission office, the DMV, or in Douglas County, any of Omaha’s 12 library branches.

Registration questions

Visit to check whether you’re registered to vote and find your polling place. If you think you should be able to vote at a polling place but there’s a problem with the registration, request to fill out a provisional ballot. The election commission will collect them and then has a week to verify whether you are eligible to vote.

To see a sample ballot

See a sample ballot from the Nebraska Secretary of State website here.

To find your district

Visit and look up your registration info or polling place to find a list of the political districts you live in.

Important dates

Oct. 1: First day for early voting ballots to be mailed.
Oct. 9: First day to vote early in person at election commission office.
Oct. 19: Deadline to register to vote online, by mail, at agencies, at the DMV office, by deputy registrar or by registration form that’s delivered to the election office by someone other than the person registering
Oct. 26: Deadline for in-person voter registration at election commission office, 6 p.m. Deadline for early voting ballots to be requested to be mailed to a specific address, 6 p.m. Deadline for write-in candidates to file notarized affidavit and filing fee with filing officer.
Nov. 5: Deadline for in-person early voting at election commission office, 5 p.m. (Sarpy County office closes at 4:45 p.m.)
Nov. 6: Election Day! Polls open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. 7 p.m.: Deadline for agent to pick up early voting ballot. 8 p.m.: Deadline to return early voting ballot to election commission office or drop box location
Nov. 13: Deadline for verification of provisional ballots

Here are the Douglas County drop box locations, opening in early October:

City/County Building (1819 Farnam St.)
South Omaha Branch Library (2808 Q St.)
Washington Branch Library (2868 Ames Ave.)
Ralston Police Department (7400 Main St., Ralston)
Abrahams Branch Library (5111 N. 90th St.)
Douglas County Election Commission (225 N. 115th St.)
Drive-up location (115th and Davenport Streets, on median)
Douglas County Engineer's Office (15505 West Maple Road)
Millard Public Schools Foundation (5225 S. 159th Ave.)
Bess Johnson Elkhorn Branch Library (2100 Reading Plaza)

To contact your election commission

Douglas County Election Commission:; 402-444-8683; 225 N. 115th St., Omaha, NE 68154

Sarpy County Election Commission:; 402-593-2167; 501 Olson Drive, Suite 4, Papillion, NE 68046